Women’s AFC Asian Cup 2022: When, Where, Matildas Matches and Results, Teams, How to Watch in Australia

The 20th edition of the AFC Women’s Asian Cup will begin in India early next year.

Japan is AFC’s defending champion, winning in 2018 and holding a tournament every four years.

Next year’s tournament will increase the number of teams from eight to twelve, with the best countries in Asia competing for the title.

The tournament’s four semi-finals and Australia (co-sponsor) will participate directly in the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup, where the quarter-finals have access to the playoff spots.

When is the Women’s AFC Asian Cup 2022?

The event will begin on January 20, 2022 and end on February 6, 2022, with 25 games in 17 days.

To encourage athletes, the tournament is held in the winter of India, making it the most comfortable time of the year on the subcontinent.

Where will the Women’s AFC Asian Cup be held?

The Women’s Asian Cup will be held in India in two host cities, Mumbai and Pune.

Initially, Ahmedabad and Bhubaneswar were nominated as host cities alongside Mumbai in June 2021, but AFC switched to the final choice a month later.

When is the women’s AFC Asian Cup draw?

The tournament draw will be announced in Kuala Lumpur on October 28th (6 pm AEDT).

How to watch the Women’s AFC Asian Cup?

The streaming service Paramount Plus has the rights to broadcast next year’s Women’s AFC Asian Cup.

Paramount Plus and Network 10 owned by the same company ViacomCBS Acquired almost all of Australia’s domestic football rights..

To catch all Matildas AFC Asian Cup matches Join Paramount Plus for free for 7 days..

Who qualified for the Women’s AFC Asian Cup?

India participated in the tournament as the host country, but PR for Japan, Australia and China did not have to go through the participation process due to the results of the 2018 Women’s Asia Cup.

Other teams reached the tournament through another qualifying process.

team team
India (host) Indonesia (Group C winner)
Japan (2018 champion) Myanmar (Group D winner)
Australia (2018 runner-up) South Korea (Group E winner)
China PR (3rd place in 2018) Philippines (Group F winner)
Chinese Taipei (Group A Winner) Iran (Group G winner)
Vietnam (Group B winner) Thailand (Group H winner)

Who is on the Matildas Team for the Women’s AFC Asian Cup?

The 2022 AFC Cup Matilda Steam has not yet been announced.

Click here to see the teams that have recently played against Brazil.

(Photo by Stanley Butterfly / Getty Images)

How is the Women’s AFC Asian Cup Tournament organized?

There are three groups named A, B and C. The top two in each group will be in the quarterfinals and the third will have a chance to move on to the next round. The 3rd place team will be ranked according to the difference between points and goals. Two of the highest ranked teams in 3rd place will advance to the next stage.

Quarter finals

QF1-Group A winner v Group B / C 3rd place

QF2-Group B winner v Group C runner-up

QF3-Group C winner v Group A / B 3rd place

QF4-Group A runner-up v Group B runner-up

Semifinals (All semifinals will compete in the 2023 World Cup)

SF 1-QF1 winner vQF2 winner

SF2-QF3 winner vQF4 winner


SF 1 v SF 2

Women’s AFC Asian Cup 2022: When, Where, Matildas Matches and Results, Teams, How to Watch in Australia

Source link Women’s AFC Asian Cup 2022: When, Where, Matildas Matches and Results, Teams, How to Watch in Australia

Related Articles

Back to top button