Sydney hosting Tasman Series returns

By Rhys Vandersyde

Sydney Motorsport Park will host an open round of the S5000 Tasman Series in November this year.

The S5000 was originally planned to run with the Gold Coast 500, but instead featured a support card for the Supercars Championship round in western Sydney from November 19-21, the second in a two-round series. Head to Bassert for the event.

“Although the calendars have changed this year, we’ve worked hard to maintain the original concept of the two-round S5000 Tasman Series, which is a great achievement,” said Liam Kirkpatrick, S5000 Championship Manager.

“By joining the Super Cars at Sydney Motorsports Park, the revival of the Tasman Series is a live TV event that attracts attention, and a great driver’s track that everyone loved when racing there in May this year. It will definitely start with. “

“Then, eight days later, we’ll head to Bassert, which will keep the two events in a compact time frame, making it easier for teams and drivers traveling from the interstate highway.”

“Although the original plans have changed, we are confident that the revival of the Tasman Series will be great for our competitors and fans watching on the circuit and on TV.”

The S5000 will be heading to Mount Panorama for the first time as part of a large Bathurst 1000 event for six days from November 30th to December 5th.

2021 commemorates the revival of the iconic Tasman Series, which was first staged between 1964 and 1975 and won by sports legends such as Bruce McLaren, Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart and Chris Amon.

The same Tasman Cup presented to those champions will be awarded to the winners of the 2021 series with the full blessing of Custodians, Motorsports Australia and Motorsports New Zealand.

The November event will be the second time the New South Wales Circuit has hosted an S5000 round. Sydney Motorsport Park is the climax of the Australian Drivers’ Championship Grand Finale in May this year.

That weekend, Joey Mawson won the title early in the feature race, despite a wild-off on Turn 1. Meanwhile, James Golding won two of the three races, setting a circuit lap record of 1: 26.06.

At the Sydney event, three races will be contested, each counting into the Tasman Series. For the Tasman Series, prize money of $ 50,000 to $ 30,000 will be paid to the overall winner.

Details about the four Supercars events at Sydney Motorsport Park will be revealed in the coming days.

For more information on the latest motorsport news Pick up the latest issue of automated action..Also follow us on social media Facebook, twitter, Instagram Or our Weekly e-mail newsletter All the latest updates between issues.

Sydney hosting Tasman Series returns

Source link Sydney hosting Tasman Series returns

Related Articles

Back to top button